The Waiting Place….

…for people just waiting.

Waiting for a train to go
or a bus to come, or a plane to go
or the mail to come, or the rain to go
or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow
or waiting around for a Yes or No
or waiting for their hair to grow.
Everyone is just waiting.

Waiting for the fish to bite
or waiting for wind to fly a kite
or waiting around for Friday night
or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake
or a pot to boil, or a Better Break
or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants
or a wig with curls, or Another Chance.
Everyone is just waiting.

Courtesy of Dr. Seuss ” Oh! The Places You’ll Go” ( when you get orders 🙂 )

Still no word on our plans. Still no word.  In May we were told 3-4 weeks.  We waited…somewhat patiently for a matter of fact.  Then June came…. and has almost left… and still no idea where we will be stationed next.  G will finish up his training in November, and at that point we should be headed to a more “permanent” location.  And while I know that November is 4 months away, and there is nothing I really NEED to know…  that doesn’t help.  I WANT to know! I want to know now!

And in moments when my guard is down, I start wondering….why do I need to know so bad? I mean what does it really matter? This is the Army– everyone waits! Hurry up and wait! Orders change! Be Flexible!

My best excuses for my toddler-like acceptance of this waiting include: finding pre-schools for the children ( after all, any excuse on THEIR behalf is selfless), finding a house ( selfless), seeing what unit G will be in ( again selfless), and then I draw a blank.  There is nothing I really need to know, or would even benefit greatly from  knowing–  other than my sanity, which has been absent so long it seems irrelevant.

Maybe  this news isn’t all that important.  Maybe it doesn’t matter where we move next, as all locations will have both pre-schools and houses.  Maybe the Army wants me to enjoy Augusta, and not start planning my life at the next stop.  Maybe the perfect spot on a meadow in Germany isn’t quite ready for me yet.  Maybe, just maybe, the person in charge of assigning this position has been abducted and can’t reach a computer to respond to e-mails.  Maybe the e-mail was sent on time, the professional and RIGHT thing to do, but the e-mail was intercepted.  Maybe I have the patience of a small child.

Either way…. I am here to report that we are waiting.  And will continue to do so until Uncle Sam decides we are done waiting.  And at that point, from my recent experience…. we will just start waiting for the next orders.

Thanks for listening… you have saved G from 15 minutes of this conversation…. and for that, you have practiced your daily act of kindness.

** The picture…. uneditted ( sorry) is from the ER while Jackson was waiting for his head gash to be investigated.  **

Leave a Reply

