Reason for the Season

Well it has been awhile since I have been blogging.  The move kept us busy for a while, and with Christmas upon us I have been pretty occupied!

I am not really inclined to do a big review of what has been going on — because that would bore you all to tears.  We have been unpacking, exploring Colorado Springs and getting ready for the man in the red suit.   The children are very excited, and ask almost hourly when Santa will be here. Does he know our new address?   Do I think they will make the nice list?

I have attempted to train, guide, persuade them that Christmas ( or any holiday) is not a time of reckless greed and mile-long manifestos.  That we should think of others and their wants, desires and mile-long manifestos and be thoughtful.  They enjoy my allegories, and listen intently.  Then tell me  they need to go on http://www.amazon.com and look at stuff.  That’s right.  They say w w w . amazon . com  — and they are 4 and 3.   And while I try to model behavior that is productive, I can not claim to succeed with consistency.  Because I starting seeing things, too.  Wonderful things.  Like new computers and camera lenses.  Oh the lenses!  And camera bags that look like purses!  And then we all sort of lose focus and head to the kitchen and bake something.

And while baking today, I was thinking about what really makes this season “most wonderful.”   And the thing that really occurred to me, speaking on a very basic level, is gingerbread man shaped waffles.

 

That’s right.  Waffles.

What other time of year do you cut waffles into shapes?  What other time of year do you sit your two pre-school age children down and make homemade wrapping paper?  With paints!

It is all these things.  The waffles, the baking and even the time sitting on http://www.amazon.com together that make this season so special.

And I really do think that this magical time is being spoiled by stores putting stuff out in October… because the stamina required to

create this magic can not be maintained over 12 weeks!

Like cutting sponges into stars and trees.

And then practicing the painting.

And doing the painting.

And cleaning up  the painting…which is why there is no actual photos of completed homemade wrapping paper.

And even shopping in long lines to buy a gift for someone who may get overlooked at times.  I am glad we settled enough in the house to do these fun extras.

And even if the children don’t remember them or can’t stop fixating on the toys, I know I will.

 

** G is busy at work designing my new blog!! I want to put the link up so badly, because he did great.  But alas, he says it will ruin the presentation.  But soon!!!!**

Leave a Reply

